My Phinishing Talk: a summary of the sciency things I’ve done to get a PhD.

*update* I did get those signatures and received my PhD on May 15, 2015.

lab_photoI am almost a doctor…almost. I have one signature down, three to go, a few edits to make, and then that – is – it. For a glimpse into my academic journey, I present to you here my finishing talk, recorded on April 20, 2015 (and then I put slide images over the poor-quality video). I hope you enjoy it and learn something new!

For those of you that don’t want to sit through the whole thing (at least not in one sitting…you know you want to hear it all!) I have provided the time points for the different sections below:

My advisor’s introduction (David Lindberg): 0:00-5:05

Background on deep-sea ecosystems: 5:06-9:19

My three questions: 9:20-10:04

Q1: Is there a common evolutionary path toward specialization in reducing habitats? (aka, the Gastropod supertree chapter): 10:05-19:27

Q2: How have lineages modified their anatomy to specialize in deep-sea habitats? (aka, the 3D limpet chapter): 19:28-27:15

Q3: How does variation in sunken wood influence community assembly? (aka, the woodfall chapter): 27:16-43:58

Summary and Acknowledgements: 43:59-46:39

Questions from audience: 46:40-53:13 (end)

One thought on “My Phinishing Talk: a summary of the sciency things I’ve done to get a PhD.

Comments and/or questions are welcome: